Skip to main content

Appleseed Awards Presented To Outstanding Residents

Thursday, June 21, 2018
2018 Appleseed ObGyn

Duke Ob/Gyn is proud to announce the 2017-2018 Appleseed Resident Teaching Award recipients and Honorable Mention recognitions. Awards were presented on June 20, 2018, and presentations were made on behalf of the Duke University Medical School students following Ob/Gyn Grand Rounds.

Three outstanding residents were presented with the awards by Shree Bose, who along with Eleanor Semmes co-chairs the Appleseed Awards Committee. They were recognized for outstanding performance as educators and mentors and were selected by a democratic vote by the students “because they not only exceeded expectations of medical pedagogy, but have shown genuine passion for training the next generation of doctors…”

The Appleseed Resident Teaching Award was created in 2008 by Duke medical students in an effort to recognize, support and reward exceptional teaching and mentoring by house staff. The awards are presented annually to no more than 10% of the total residency classes, and are designed to highlight their positive impact upon education. As a small token of appreciation, the winners are awarded an Appleseed lapel pin and a $25 Nosh gift certificate.

Included among the praises each awardee received are the following testimonials to why they were selected:

Lauren Sayres, MD:

“Her compassion for patients and enthusiasm for Ob/Gyn is truly contagious. Dr. Sayres is seen as an outstanding resident, educator and role model. As an excellent teacher, she does a great job teaching medical students how to be helpful and make them feel a part of the team while still providing superb patient care. She was very approachable for students, and provided positive reassurance. One example: Dr. Sayres took the time to read notes at home after being late for dinner plans and gave thoughtful feedback. Students felt very fortunate to have had an opportunity to work with and learn from her, and hope to have the opportunity to do so again in the future."

Jill Hagey, MD, MPH:

Praised as an amazing teacher and person, Dr. Hagey’s students said she made ample time for student learning, even on busy night shifts. Dr. Hagey played a huge part of making her students feel comfortable in an entirely new environment, and feeling comfortable making a best effort (and a mistake). From including her students in every patient interview, procedure, and surgery, the students said her demeanor was always kind, upbeat, helpful and considerate, and they felt lucky to have worked with her.

Vivienne Meljen, MD, was noted to be extraordinarily competent and kind, and took the time to interact with students to ensure that they are having a good experience. Leading by example in many ways, she was described as not only an exemplary resident, but a kind human. She is admired tremendously, and students count themselves fortunate to have had the chance to work with her. Seen as a terrific teacher with such high energy, she has given outstanding constructive and helpful feedback. With a smile on her face, she is a fierce woman in medicine.

Benjamin Harris, MD, MPH; and Luke Gatta, MD, both previous Appleseed Award winners (making them ineligible as awardees this year) received Honorable Mentions for their continued exceptional mentorship.