Dept. Holds Hammond Research Day 2023

On Friday, May 19, nine residents and six fellows presented their research, representing the culmination of months of thoughtful inquiry, hard work and personal and professional growth at the department's annual Charles B. Hammond, MD, Research Day. Additionally, Duke Ob/Gyn was honored to have Courtney A. Schreiber, MD, MPH, as the featured lecturer and distinguished judge. Dr. Schreiber presented an impactful talk titled “Science = Hope: Mifepristone Past, Present and Future.” The engaging talk was timely for the current climate of women’s health.

"Hammond Research Day is one of my favorite events of our academic year. It is a time to celebrate and honor department trainees for their exceptional achievements in research and their dedication to impacting the future of women’s health — never more important than in today’s challenging and difficult times," said Matthew D. Barber, MD, MHS, department chair. "On this day, dedicated to Dr. Hammond, we honor him and his legacy as an internationally recognized leader, educator, researcher and advocate for women’s health. He was a mentor to many, including me. As chair and Residency Program director for more than 20 years, Dr. Hammond was committed to ensuring that residents and fellows developed into well-rounded academic obstetrician/gynecologists with outstanding clinical skills, a sharp scientific mind and a compassionate heart. Annually, we commemorate the impressive and tireless research efforts of our residents and fellows, and we honor Dr. Hammond."

Distinguished judges were Vice Chair for Research Danny J. Schust, MD, and 2023 F. Bayard Carter Society President Craig J. Sobolewski, MD.

Highlights, in addition to the exceptional presentations, were an inaugural poster display of research by current third-year medical students and PhD candidates working with Duke Ob/Gyn faculty members, and the CREOG award recognition for the highest score, presented to Quality Improvement and Safety Chief Resident Julia R. Salinaro, MD.

Research Day award winners (pictured): 

  • Kathleen M. Zacherl, MD —  fellow winner
  • Elizabeth P. Howell, MD — first place resident winner
  • Alexandra C. Sundermann, MD, PhD — second place resident winner
  • Carmen M. Santoli, MD — third place resident winner
  • Melissa R. Rosen, BA — outstanding scientific poster winner. 

A summary of all presentations can be found in the program book here