Skip to main content

Faculty Appointed to SOM Leadership Positions

Monday, August 19, 2019

Geeta Swamy, MD, Appointed Associate Vice President for Research, IDSOG Council

Cindy Amundsen, MD, Appointed Vice Chair of Clinical APT Committee 

Maternal-Fetal Medicine specialist Dr. Geeta Swamy, who previously served as Vice Dean and Associate Vice Provost for Scientific Integrity in the Duke University School of Medicine, has been appointed Associate Vice President for Research. She continues to lead the Duke Office of Scientific Integrity (DOSI), which will move from the School of Medicine to have university-wide responsibility for scientific integrity. Its charge includes Advancing Scientific Integrity, Services and Training (ASIST), conflict of interest, misconduct in research, and the Duke Office of Research Initiatives (DORI), which encompasses research onboarding and navigation programs, as well as the institutional research incident response team.  Additionally, Dr. Swamy was elected to the IDSOG Council at the 46th Annual Meeting and will serve as President of the society for the 50th Annual Meeting.

Urogynecologist Dr. Cindy Amundsen has been named Vice Chair of the Clinical Appointments, Promotions and Tenure Committee for the Duke University School of Medicine, effective August 1, 2019.